top of page

Prioritizing Service

When coming to Linfield, joining a sorority was something I always planned to do. Going through formal recruitment, I remember talking to my sisters and hearing about what made them choose Alpha Phi. From this, I was able to see how my values aligned with theirs.


During recruitment, I was able to become connected to Linfield Alpha Phi chapter and our values, including leadership, loyalty, sisterhood, character development, but the one that held and still holds the most significance to me is Alpha Phi’s value of service.


Quickly after joining Alpha Phi, the Director of Community Service position opened up. I knew it was an excellent opportunity to get involved as a new chapter member. In that role, I was able to organize community outreach and service opportunities such as diaper drives for A Family Place, made tie blankets for Juliette’s House, and supply drive for Henderson House.


Prioritizing service in our Alpha Phi chapter on campus and the McMinnville community was a huge honor and allowed me to use my prior experiences.

My passion for service has come from competing within the Miss America Organization for the past six years. This past year, I served as Miss North Coast 2020-2021 and had the opportunity to work closely with many nonprofits, with Every Child Oregon being my main focus. In addition, I have worked with many other nonprofits in my hometown of Seaside, Oregon.



This passion and drive for nonprofit work have led to me having a goal of starting my nonprofit organization focusing on bettering the lives of children around the state of Oregon.


Alpha Phi was able to provide me with a leadership experience that I was already passionate about and help guide me to become the 2022 Vice President of Finance and Housing for our chapter here at Linfield University.

Service is a significant part of Alpha Phi chapters across the nation, and I am honored that I could make a small impact on our local chapter. As I continue to hold a leadership position in the Theta Alpha chapter, I look forward to improving our chapter as a whole, making our sisterhood unique, and having the ability to impact the Linfield and McMinnville community.


73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page