top of page

Alpha Phi's 73rd Biennial Convention

This year, I was fortunate to travel and represent Linfield Alpha Phi at the 73rd Biennial Convention in beautiful Scottsdale, AZ. The convention, which took place at the JW Marriott Camelback Inn, consisted of four days where Alpha Phi's came together to elect the new International and Foundation board and celebrate Alpha Phi's 150th Birthday.


I was very nervous when I checked into the hotel because the first interaction I had was when the hotel staff advised me they did not have a room for me.

However, I came to find out moments later that the team could check me into "Room 150" (considering Alpha Phi's 150th Birthday); after that, I knew that everything was meant to be for the rest of the week.



Starting the first evening, the convention staff hosted a welcome dinner where collegiates, alumni delegates, and volunteers were encouraged to dress up in their western get-ups. Along with the cowboy boots and bandanas, we all came together at the end of our dinner and line-danced. This night was one of my favorites because this is where I met my closest friends from the convention, Emily (Xi, University of Toronto) and Chloe (Iota Upsilon, University of Ottawa).


Early the following day, we were able to attend Disney's Approach to Leadership taught by Alpha Phi, Amy Kesman Rossi (Beta Alpha, University of Illinois), who works as a Leadership Advisor with the Disney Institute.


During this three-hour course, members receive an immersive, hands-on curriculum, as well as the instruments and abilities needed to lead with purpose, foster a climate of trust, comprehend the effects of their actions, and more.

This fall, our Vice President of Health, Wellness, and Accountability, Emma Campbell, will travel to Walt Disney World in Orlando, FL, and experience the whole curriculum at the Alpha Phi Leadership Institute.



Later that evening, convention attendees gathered at the Leading with Heart Celebration Dinner hosted by the Alpha Phi Foundation. During this dinner, we heard about the impact of this biennium’s Leading with Heart campaign from the previous Alpha Phi Foundation chair board, Mary Beth Coolen Tully (Epsilon Psi, Lehigh University).


At the end of the dinner, we were thrilled when Mary Beth Coolen Tully announced that the Alpha Phi Foundation was able to raise over $42 Million (and counting) to help with Women's Heart Health advancement, research, scholarships, and so much more.

Friday, June 24th, was probably my favorite day. Besides getting to sleep in, one of the best parts of the day was the start when we all met in the conference area for Convention Assembled. This is where everyone involved in the conference sat together to discuss bylaws and other pressing discussions within our fraternity. To start Convention Assembled, all 172 chapter delegates met outside the conference area and waited to enter when their chapter was announced while holding a flag and representing their school. Without a doubt, walking through the conference holding the "Theta Alpha - Linfield" flag will be a beloved memory for the rest of my life.



Later that night, Alpha Phi held a 150th Birthday Carnival Celebration. When I say I was in awe of the thought and details behind this celebration, I mean it!

There was every game you could imagine at the carnival, with hotdogs, nachos, cotton candy, dancers, contortionists, and more. However, my favorite part of the evening was when the collegiate members came together on the dance floor to sing and dance.


The next day, the last day, was all go-go-go. We began the morning in the conference area, where we resumed our elections and discussions regarding everything Alpha Phi. Following Convention Assembled, there was a Service of Remembrance for all Alpha Phi members who have passed and entered the Silent Chapter in the past biennium. This part of the convention was incredibly impactful to me.


Through the Service of Remembrance, I was able to see how sisters, big and small, have impacted and touched so many people's lives in so many ways. Most notably, on the night of the first day of the convention, Alpha Phi lost one of its fearless leaders, Nancy Wittgen Burks DeVoe (Gamma, DePauw University), who served as International President, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, and Chairman of the Alpha Phi Foundation. Her tribute during this year's Service of Remembrance was incredibly special.



Following the Service of Remembrance, I attended the Women of Achievement Luncheon. At this luncheon, I met and heard from Amanda Nyguen (Iota Tau, Harvard University), who was a 2019 Nobel Peace Prize Nominee and currently serves as an Astro-Scientist candidate, the CEO of her company RISE, and one of TIMES 2022 Women of the Year.


To conclude the night and the fantastic few days, we attended the Candlelight Banquet. This evening was an award presentation and the installation of the new International Executive Board and International President Kate Boyle Halfon (Eta Delta, CSU East Bay). Her closing remarks were a moment that I will honestly remember forever.


In her speech, Kate Boyle Halfon stated, "It doesn't matter how small of a school or chapter you are, you can still make an impact in Alpha Phi and the community around you."

Coming from a small school like Linfield, we can often feel like just another school among the other 172 Alpha Phi chapters. However, Boyle Halfon was able to show and remind me that no matter how small your chapter is, you can still strive to make a mark and maybe even someday, like her, become Alpha Phi International President.



While I could continue about the fantastic experiences and memories for days and days, such as the court of Ivy Ceremony, Initiation, or Loving Cup ceremony, I will save you the made this past weekend. Not only have I met so many impactful people, but I have learned so much that I will cherish with me for the rest of my life.


I cannot wait for the biennium and return to the Alpha Phi Convention as an alumni delegate and continue supporting Alpha Phi for the next 150 years.


57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page