top of page

Phi-alling in Love with Philanthropy

Alpha Phi’s philanthropy is why I was so driven to find my home within this chapter. When I was eleven years old, I experienced my very first loss, which was extremely hard on me since it was so sudden. My grandfather suddenly passed away from a heart attack at 2:43 am on October 3rd, 2013. Although our philanthropy focuses on Women’s Heart Health, I have taken my experience from my grandfather and have wondered what women in my life would be suddenly taken from me in the same way.


My time in Alpha Phi has been short, but I knew I wanted to make the most of my time and make the most significant impact. When appointed officer applications opened, I immediately knew Director of Philanthropy would be my place. This position has made me feel like I am hands-on, making a difference in people’s lives and serving my community.


I knew Red Dress Gala was our biggest event, but because of the pandemic, no current member had ever experienced an in-person Red Dress Gala. Because this event is so unique and meaningful, I wanted to build as much anticipation as I could the week leading up to the event, and that’s when I got the idea of a Heart Health Week.





While exploring the best fundraisers/activities that would receive the most participation and interest, I figured food appealed to college students. On Monday, we started with a fundraiser through Panda Express at our local store in McMinnville, where 20% of the proceeds would be donated. We happened to have a sisterhood event that night, so many of the sisters went and got dinner before the event.


Since this was a Heart Health Week, and Panda Express isn’t necessarily the healthiest option, we collaborated with Local Flow Health Bar on Tuesday. This is a smoothie bowl place owned and operated by two Linfield graduates who were more than happy to work with us and donate 15% of their daily revenue to our philanthropy. On Wednesday, we kept it simple and made it Wear Red Day, where we encouraged students, faculty, and staff to wear red to show their support for Women’s Heart Health. On Thursday, we had the honor to work with a Linfield student who is a certified Zumba instructor. This is our most fun activity because we are having fun with our sisters, but we are boosting our heart health.


Lastly, Friday was Mac N’ Phis. In the past, this event was held in the fall during a football game where we would sell our dining hall mac and cheese; and while it was successful, at football games, there are many more food options that people may be more drawn to. I decided to completely restructure this event and make it more fun for our sisters and our campus community. I made it a mac and cheese cooking competition between the sisters of Alpha Phi. Sisters signed up to make their signature mac and cheeses to compete to win a $20 Dutch Bros Gift Card. Students, faculty, and staff would purchase a plate and a raffle ticket and be able to go down the line of the nine different varieties and load up their plates with as many different kinds as they’d like. After trying all of the mac and cheese, they would vote for their favorite by dropping a raffle ticket into the bag of their choice! At the end of the event, I counted the raffle tickets, and the person with the most votes won the $20 Dutch Bros Gift Card.


On the Sunday of that week, Red Dress Gala was held at the beautiful McMinnville Bindery, which brought the event to life. We had ten silent auction baskets that included items donated by the community and each sister in the chapter. Basket values ranged from $70-$400. There was also a raffle and a wine pull. Being the sole person in charge of planning this entire event, it was indescribable to watch the actual event unfold and be highly successful. Hearing the stories of those who have lost a loved one due to heart health is incredibly heartbreaking. Still, I am so passionate about Alpha Phi’s philanthropy because it profoundly impacts the lives of each person around us.


Heart Health Week was extremely successful in raising funds to donate. Still, because of how many people became more educated on heart health, our community got to be involved, and our chapter got to spend time together to support this cause. Alpha Phi will forever be in my heart because I know they will be there to take care of it,

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page