top of page

Leading with Purpose

Leadership has always been a passion of mine. When deciding to join a sorority, I took the time to learn about each chapter and what they valued. I felt that each chapter's values were different, and I wanted a sorority that matched my personal values.


So, I was excited that Alpha Phi’s values lined up with mine and they were equally as passionate about leadership. Fast forward into late spring of 2021, I had only been a member of Alpha Phi for a few months. However, when I saw Alpha Phi International was bringing back their annual Alpha Phi Leadership Institute after not having it for a year due to the pandemic, I couldn't wait to apply.


The Alpha Phi Leadership Institute is a three-day leadership development conference that allows members of Alpha Phi an immersive, experiential curriculum, plus the tools and skills to lead with purpose, create an environment of trust, understand the impac


t of their actions, and more.



Only 175 collegiate members are accepted each year, so I was a little hesitant to apply. But I decided why not? What is the worst that could happen? I don’t get accepted? So, I applied and after a couple of months of waiting, I finally heard back.


I vividly remember what I was doing when I received the news. I had just got off a ten-hour shift and was absolutely exhausted. When I decided to check my email and saw a header that said: “you’re accepted”.


I was in utter shock that I was picked to attend and was going to Orlando, Florida for the Alpha Phi Leadership Institute.

A few months passed and it was finally the weekend that I would be attending the conference. During this trip, I got to travel with four other Alpha Phi sisters from various chapters in Oregon. As well as sharing a room with a sister from Wichita State University (Kansas). Throughout the trip, I got to meet sisters from all over the country and even some from Canada!


This conference allowed me to expand my leadership skills to be able to relate them back to sorority life and connect them in a way I hadn’t done before. Some of the workshops I attended included topics such as ways to be an effective leader, goal setting, the importance of empowerment, and so much more.


This experience also allowed me to venture out and see what Alpha Phi is like at other Universities and gather ideas of how they do things.

Even though this trip was mainly to attend the leadership institute and learn there were still plenty of opportunities to have fun. After a long day of learning, I got to go see Disneyworld and explore the different parks with an amazing group of sisters.


Being able to attend the Alpha Phi Leader Institute was such an honor, as I got to represent the Theta Alpha chapter here at Linfield. The trip was overall such an amazing experience and definitely a weekend I will never forget.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page