top of page

A Letter from the Outgoing VPMR

Going through recruitment as a freshman, I remember feeling nervous but also really excited to meet all the chapters.

Although the process was draining, I enjoyed talking and learning more about what it meant to be in sorority life. I remember on bid day, feeling at peace knowing I made the best decision and that the next four years at Linfield would be nothing short of amazing.


Through these last couple years in Alpha Phi, I have had the opportunity to hold several leadership positions. They have pushed me to grow in so many different areas of my life and have truly shaped me to be a better leader, friend, and sister. One of the leadership positions that I saw the most growth in myself was Vice President of Membership Recruitment.


During my freshman year recruitment, I was inspired by the stories told and conversations that I had with so many women in the chapter and felt at home every time I walked into Alpha Phi’s room. Recruitment was where I found my best friends and my Phi family. Once becoming an Alpha Phi, I knew I wanted to take on a role that was associated with recruitment at some point. Sophomore year, I had the opportunity to be the VPMR for our chapter. This position was a large commitment, taking over a year to plan, just for two short weeks of recruitment. But I would not change it for the world.


Polish week, a week in preparation for recruitment was full of training, hard work and bonding.

After a year of online programming, being able to hold this week in person with all of our members was such an amazing experience as it felt more concrete in that we were all working towards a collective goal. Throughout this week I truly saw so many friendships form within the chapter, but also the chapter’s collective bond grow.



The previous year had been an online recruitment, so I had no idea how an in-person recruitment was run on the back side. This task was daunting, as I was also doing many things for the first time. But, as everything fell into place, all the work put in was worth it. The energy every night was unmatched.


I have been so lucky to have so many hardworking women by my side through this recruitment. My Director of Formal Recruitment, Peyton Fast, was truly a godsend. She stayed on top of so many things and helped make recruitment everything I had ever imagined. My hospitality team was one in a million, and the spirit committee kept the energy high.


All in all, the amazing sisters of Alpha Phi were so hardworking and inspirational throughout the recruitment process. If it wasn’t for them, we would not have been able to help so many amazing PNM’s find their home in sorority life at Linfield.

I am so grateful to have had this opportunity to lead and work the women in Alpha Phi this past year. This group of powerful and encouraging women have taught me so much and have pushed me to be my best self, day in and day out. As my role as recruitment chair has come to a close, I am incredibly optimistic and excited for what the future holds.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page